01275 873647

0
£0.00
The Long, Long Afternoon

Other Information:

  • Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
  • Hardback Published: 04/02/2021
  • ISBN-13: 9781838772260

The Long, Long Afternoon

Available options

Hardback
£14.99
Quantity

The sunniest places hold the darkest secrets . . .

A stunning 1950s set debut mystery brimming with atmosphere and perfect for fans of Tangerine, Small Pleasures and Mad Men.

 Yesterday, I kissed my husband for the last time . .

. It's the summer of 1959, and the well-trimmed lawns of Sunnylakes, California, wilt under the sun. At some point during the long, long afternoon, Joyce Haney, wife, mother, vanishes from her home, leaving behind two terrified children and a bloodstain on the kitchen floor.

While the Haney's neighbours get busy organising search parties, it is Ruby Wright, the family's 'help', who may hold the key to this unsettling mystery. Ruby knows more about the secrets behind Sunnylakes' starched curtains than anyone, and it isn't long before the detective in charge of the case wants her help. But what might it cost her to get involved? In these long hot summer afternoons, simmering with lies, mistrust and prejudice, it could only take one spark for this whole 'perfect' world to set alight .
 

Author:

Inga Vesper

You May Also Like .....